Little Tart loves it all…most of the time

New Day

Posted on: May 1, 2008

     The last few days I have been horribly depressed. I am not prone to nihilism by nature, and I am often dismissive of the existential malaise so many of my generation thrive on. However, the combination of food riots internationally, global inflation, my allergies and the democratic party’s protracted and increasing destructive primary have sent me into a tailspin resulting in hours spent reading urban survivalist websites, pricing bike trailers (for hauling water and cats into the wilderness), and learning about bee husbandry so I am prepared to cultivate my own honey when “Post Peak Oil” destroys my comfortable American lifestyle. Yes, I am in a bit of a crisis. A crisis that makes me want to cry out “WAKE UP YOU FOOLS! PUT DOWN THE IPOD, STEP AWAY FROM YOUR SUV, DON”T BUY THOSE POP-TARTS, STOP PAYING YOUR MORTAGE, BECAUSE THE WORLD IS ABOUT TO END! THE SKY IS FALLING, THE SKY IS FALLING…THE SKY IS FALLING” before rolling into the fetal position and sobbing helplessly. I have restrained my self so far, though last night I participated in a lifestyle defining purchase that many in the left or left leaning community would find objectionable, but I found oddly, and uncomfortably, comforting.

     I have no new insights to bring to the table on any of these fronts. I am being reactive not proactive and so I am depressed because… well…the sky is falling. Or so it felt until this morning when I read the remarkable open letter written by Joseph J. Andrew regarding his endorsement shift from Senator Clinton to Senator Obama.

     My funk has removed the ability to bring analysis to this fine text, so all I can do is urge everyone to read what he has to say and take it to heart. For myself, it has brought hope to my dark worldview as well as tears. I would like to share what caused the tears, because it is a strong reminder of what is good and right in the world:

“The difference between the Republican Party and the Democratic Party is that you are always welcome in the Democratic Party.

Because Democrats don’t care if you are black or white or brown or a nice shade of green, you are welcome in the Democratic Party.

We don’t care if you pray in a church or a synagogue or a temple or a mosque, or just before math tests, you are welcome in the Democratic Party.

We don’t care if you are young or old, or just don’t want to tell your age, you are welcome in the Democratic Party.

We don’t care what gender you are, or what gender you want to hold hands with; as long as you want to hold hands, you are welcome in the Democratic Party.

We don’t care about the size of your bank account, just the size of your heart; and we don’t care where you are today, just where you dream you want to be tomorrow.

That is your Democratic Party.

That is Barack Obama’s Democratic Party.

That is the Party that will win in November.”

 

      The world might be bleak today, but Mr. Andrew’s words of wisdom and endorsement of hope are inspirational in my dark time.  I am sure that Senator Clinton’s war hounds will have already begun tearing at his flesh and bellowing to the heavens over this insult to their candidate.  By doing so they reinforce his reasoning and prove how brave he was for looking at the future and the past and the present and choosing to work for hope in a moment that needs hope more than anything else.  I finally feel that something has broke free and we are going to see a change occur.

Leave a Reply

